What is the Axial Skeleton?


The axial skeleton is made up of the bones that form the "axis" of the body: the skull, the sternum, the ribs and the vertebral column.  Axial skeleton bones protect and support the vital organs of the head, neck and trunk, including the brain/spinal cord, heart and lungs.  The four major parts of the axial skeleton are listed below.

The Skull                    The Sternum                    The Ribs                    The Vertebral Column